top of page

The Farwest Region

Regional Directors become a formal part of the sorority's organizational structure in the mid-1920s.  The first chapter of the Farwest Region was chartered on the University of California, Berkley Campus in 1921.  At the National Convention in Baltimore (1969), the National Executive Board was charged with including Regional Representation of collegiate sorors in the leadership structure of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc, and the board developed regional representatives.  


Currently, the Farwest Region is comprised of over 90 chapters in Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Japan, Korea, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington. 


The Farwest Region is extremely proud to have Founders Bertha Pitts Campbell, Zephyr Chisom Carter, and Wertie Blackwell Weaver hail from the Farwest Region.


In addition, 7th National President, Vivian Osborne Marsh; 13th National President, Geraldine Pittman Woods; and 17th National President, Mona Humphries Bailey also consider the Farwest Region home. 


The first Regional Representative was Soror Jane Ware Williams in 1969. Soror Williams later became National 2nd Vice-President of the Sorority.  


From the Sigma Omicron chapter, Soror Denise Elbert has served as Regional Chaplain and State Coordinator and Soror Alexis Baker has served as State Facilitator.



bottom of page